User login

The Florida Society of Ophthalmology

The EyeMDs

Emanuel Newmark, MD, FACS, receives The John R. Brayton, Jr, MD, Leadership Award

ORLANDO – The Florida Society of Ophthalmology (FSO), the preeminent professional association for medical and osteopathic doctors who specialize in vision care, is pleased to announce that Emanuel Newmark, MD, FACS, received the John R. Brayton, Jr, MD, Leadership Award at its annual meeting, Masters in Ophthalmology 2012, held June 22-24 in Orlando, FL.

Established in honor of John R. Brayton, M.D., this annual award is meant to recognize a Florida-based ophthalmologist who exemplifies leadership and dedication to the profession.

Emanuel Newmark, M. D., FACS is a board-certified ophthalmologist who has an undergraduate degree in pharmacy from Rutgers University and a medical degree from Duke University. He has more than 40 years of experience treating patients with medical and surgical eye problems.

As an awardee of a National Institute of Health research fellowship Dr. Newmark's investigations established Natamycin as a new treatment for fungal corneal ulcers. Dr. Newmark has published numerous articles on diseases of the eye and is a contributor to four textbooks on ocular disease.  He is co-executive editor of the fifth edition of Ophthalmic Medical Assisting published by the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) in 2012 and the executive editor of the fourth edition of the Ophthalmic Medical Assisting published in 2006. He is the executive editor of the Certified Ophthalmic Assistant Exam Study Guide published by the AAO in 2010. 

Dr. Newmark is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons, American Academy of Ophthalmology and a member of the American Medical Association, Florida Medical Association (FMA) and Palm Beach County Medical Society (PBCMS) and serves as a county FMA representative to the House of Delegates. In 2009 he won the PBCMS Physician Hero’s in Medicine Award. He is a past president of the Palm Beach County Ophthalmology Society and is a recipient of the society’s Ophthalmologist of the Year Award. He is a past president of the Florida Society of Ophthalmology (1990) and is the recipient of the Society’s James W. Clower, Jr, MD, Community Service Award (1995) and the Shaler Richardson, MD, Service to Medicine Award (2007).


The mission of the Florida Society of Ophthalmology is to promote and to protect the medical specialty of ophthalmology through active participation in legislative advocacy and through providing continuing medical education and the dissemination of responsible information to its members, physicians and to the citizens of Florida to ensure the delivery of the highest standard of eye care throughout the state of Florida. For more information, visit




For Eye Care Foundation





Pay Dues

Upcoming Events

Thursday, December 7, 2023
Ruth's Chris
West Palm Beach, FL
Wednesday, February 7, 2024 to Saturday, February 10, 2024
LaQuinta Resort & Club
Palm Springs, CA
Thursday, February 22, 2024
Cooper's Hawk
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Friday, February 23, 2024 to Sunday, February 25, 2024
JW Marriot Orlando Bonnet Creek Resort & Spa
Orlando, FL
Saturday, March 2, 2024 to Thursday, March 7, 2024
Sheraton Waikiki
Honolulu, HI
Wednesday, April 17, 2024 to Saturday, April 20, 2024
Renaissance Downtown
Washington, DC
Friday, April 19, 2024 to Sunday, April 21, 2024
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute
Miami, FL
Sunday, May 5, 2024 to Thursday, May 9, 2024
Seattle, WA
Saturday, June 8, 2024 to Wednesday, June 12, 2024
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel
Chicago, IL
Friday, June 21, 2024 to Sunday, June 23, 2024
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Orlando, FL