User login

The Florida Society of Ophthalmology

The EyeMDs


Legislative News

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 30, 2021

CONTACT:

Kat Canfield

Kat@coremessage.com

386-316-9668

 

End of Session Statement from Florida Society of Ophthalmology

Friday, April 30, 2021 - 16:00

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 23, 2021

 

CONTACT:

Kat Canfield
Kat@coremessage.com
386-316-9668

 

Wednesday, March 24, 2021 - 11:15

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 8, 2021

CONTACT:

Kat Canfield
Kat@coremessage.com
386-316-9668

 

Florida Doctors Speak Out Against Dangerous Legislation

Senate Bill 876 would allow non-medical doctors to perform surgery and prescribe opioids placing Floridians at serious risk.

Monday, March 8, 2021 - 16:45

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
February 1, 2021

CONTACT:
Kat Canfield
Kat@coremessage.com
386-316-9668


STATEMENT: Florida Society of Ophthalmology President Dr. Sarah Wellik on Protecting Patients, Filing of SB 876/HB631
Dangerous legislation would allow non-Medical Doctors to perform surgery and prescribe opioids placing Floridians at serious risk.

Monday, February 1, 2021 - 13:45

This week Senate Bill 876 was filed by Senator Manny Diaz, chair of the Health Policy committee. SB 876 is an aggressive and dangerous push by optometry to expand their scope of practice. This proposed legislative bill would grant broad and unprecedented surgical privileges to optometrists who are certainly not adequately trained to perform scalpel surgery, laser surgery, or prescribe narcotics.

Friday, January 29, 2021 - 18:30

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
March 4, 2020
Contact:
Kat Bustamante
kat@coremessage.com
386-316-9668

                                   Florida Senate Makes Children’s Vision Screening a Priority

Tallahassee, Fla. (March 4, 2020) – Yesterday, the Florida Senate adopted Senate Resolution 1252, which recognizes August 2020 as “Amblyopia Awareness Month,” thanks to the efforts of the Florida Society of Ophthalmology (FSO) and the For Eye Care Foundation (FECF).

Wednesday, March 4, 2020 - 11:45

May 8, 2017

Dear Colleagues,

Thank you.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017 - 09:00

Dr. Adam Katz, President of the Florida Society of Ophthalmology today released the following statement after HB 1037 passed out of the Health Quality Subcommittee.

Wednesday, March 15, 2017 - 14:00

Pages

FSO

About

 
 
 
 
 
 

For Eye Care Foundation

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Join

 
 
 
 

Contribute

Pay Dues

Upcoming Events

Friday, July 9, 2021 to Sunday, July 11, 2021
The Breakers
Palm Beach, FL
Friday, July 9, 2021 to Sunday, July 11, 2021
The Breakers
Palm Beach, FL
Saturday, July 10, 2021 to Sunday, July 25, 2021

Click here to view the program.

Virtual Meeting
Saturday, July 31, 2021 to Sunday, August 1, 2021
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Orlando, FL
Wednesday, August 25, 2021

The For Eye Care Foundation will be offering free vision screenings in conjunction with this event from 9am-1pm ET.

South Florida Science Center and Aquarium
West Palm Beach, FL