User login

The Florida Society of Ophthalmology

The EyeMDs


Socioeconomic News

First Coast Service Options Inc. (First Coast), the Medicare administrative contractor for Florida, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, is pleased to announce that the 2014 Medicare physicians fee schedule disclosures have been posted to the First Coast provider website.

Wednesday, January 8, 2014 - 09:30

On Friday morning, the U.S. House of Representatives passed an amended version of H.R. 4015 (237-182) that would repeal the flawed Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR) formula that serves as the underpinning of Medicare physician payment and provide for other Medicare payment reforms.

Tuesday, March 18, 2014 - 16:30

Insurer Offers Exemptions from Profiling Program for Ophthalmic Subspecialists. You may have been profiled incorrectly to the public by United Health Care. You need to contact them at 877.842.3210 in order to ensure that you are not being profiled inaccurately to the public.

Some ophthalmic subspecialists can be excluded from UnitedHealthcare’s physician-profiling program.

The seven qualifying subspecialties are:

Monday, April 21, 2014 - 16:00

As millions take to the playing field this spring, the world's largest association of eye physicians and surgeons warns the public that thousands of people are blinded by sports-related eye injuries. In support of Sports Eye Safety Month this April, the Florida Society of Ophthalmology along with the American Academy of Ophthalmology reminds coaches, parents and athletes of the importance of wearing eye protection - whether for Little League or the Majors.

Monday, April 21, 2014 - 16:00

Recently, the FSO has received inquiries from members seeking help on denials for billing Bleph VF. Below is the language from NCCI manual, Chapter 11 for this service.  This is specific for eyelids with ptosis.

 NCCI, Chapter 11 states:

Monday, April 21, 2014 - 16:00

The Florida Society of Ophthalmology believes that transparency in health care is a good thing, and that the prevention and discovery of fraud and abuse is also important. However, the FSO does have concerns about what patients need to consider when evaluating physician information.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 16:00

With the advent of summer and the glaring rays of the sun upon us, the Florida Society of Ophthalmology is reminding people of the importance of protecting eyes from damaging UV rays. The American Academy of Ophthalmology has released results of a Harris Poll, which  shows that a majority of Americans are unaware that taking common drugs and having light-colored eyes can make people more vulnerable to UV exposure, a contributing factor to certain eye diseases and conditions.

Friday, June 13, 2014 - 12:30

First Coast Service Options Inc. (First Coast) developed its provider Internet portal application -- Secure Provider Online Tool (SPOT) -- to offer secure, online access to Medicare data, including claim status, payment information, benefits/eligibility, and data reports for members of its provider community in Florida, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The SPOT is also an alternative channel for the electronic submission of various forms through Secure Mail.

Tuesday, March 3, 2015 - 16:00

Pages

FSO

About

 
 
 
 
 
 

For Eye Care Foundation

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Join

 
 
 
 

Contribute

Pay Dues

Upcoming Events

Wednesday, February 15, 2023 to Saturday, February 18, 2023
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Miami Beach, FL
Thursday, March 2, 2023 to Sunday, March 5, 2023
Marriott Austin Downtown
Austin, TX
Thursday, March 23, 2023 to Friday, March 24, 2023
Berlin, Germany
Wednesday, April 19, 2023 to Sunday, April 23, 2023
Renaissance Downtown
Washington, DC
Sunday, April 23, 2023 to Thursday, April 27, 2023
Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
New Orleans, LA
Friday, May 5, 2023 to Monday, May 8, 2023
San Diego Convention Center
San Diego, CA
Friday, June 9, 2023 to Sunday, June 11, 2023
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Orlando, FL
Thursday, July 27, 2023 to Tuesday, August 1, 2023
Seattle, WA
Friday, July 28, 2023 to Sunday, July 30, 2023
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Orlando, FL
Friday, November 3, 2023 to Monday, November 6, 2023
Moscone Center
San Francisco, CA